Skip to content

Merry Christmas. May your New Years dreams come true.

December 15, 2011

And this song of mine, in three quarter time, wishes you and yours the same thing too.

It’s officially the holidays, and I have listened to “The Christmas Waltz” by She & Him ad nauseam for the last three weeks. It is probably my favorite Christmas song regardless of who sings it, and their rendition is so lovely.

So a quick catch up on Thanksgiving. I worked in the morning and then headed over to Patrick and Paul’s house for a delicious Thanksgiving meal. Every year, P&P invite over anyone who cannot go home to enjoy a wonderful meal.

This year, Patrick made his batch of stuffing ever ,and there were two turkeys to chow down on. Oh, and homemade from scratch lemon meringue pie. Everyone was stuffed to say the least.

I spent the entire weekend hanging out with these two lovely gentleman, who I refer to as my California family, and their herd of dogs. We watched movies, visited some of their friends, gathered around their fire outside and decorated their tree. It’s been years since I’ve actually got to decorate a tree, and it was fun hearing all the stories about every ornament as I carefully placed them on a branch.

 Patrick describes their tree as eclectic. A mix of vintage, personal and silly ornaments. 

Patrick and Paul have some special ornaments that are pretty awesome. The first is the Merman, a dreamy cowboy with an even dreamier mustache.

They also have a Cher ornament, which makes me really think that no household Christmas tree is really ever complete without a Cher ornament.

While there, I was admiring Patrick’s large Santa collection. He told me that I need to get back into the decorating spirit because I don’t want to end up as an old lady with no memories of decorating for Christmas. He advised that every year I need to start shopping the after Christmas sales and buy one new item. He got my collection started with one of his prized Santas that has his own shelf in our bookshelf. It really was a touching gift! That week I came home and bought some dollar store ornaments to hang in our window, and they look pretty spiffy if I do say so myself.

So thanks Patrick and Paul for a wonderful weekend. I adore you both.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    December 16, 2011 12:37 am

    Um, you better not invite me to their house while their tree is up — or else Cher and the merman will go home with me.

Leave a Reply

