Skip to content

We stick together, and we see it through. You’ve got a friend in me.

November 18, 2011

Sometimes you fall in love. The type of love that just makes your heart and soul feel happy. The lovely Miss Lauren (who is pretty much in every one of my blog posts) has stolen my heart, and I could not be happier.

This week is the three-year anniversary of the first time we met during my try-out day  at work. She was the only person who voluntarily talked to me. She also was one of those people who you meet and just think, “Wow. We are going to be besties forever, and it’s gonna be great!”

I can say with certainty that the last three years would not have been half as fun without this lady in my life. Aside from the fact that we literally spend at least 40 hours a week together at work, we also spend most of our weekends together and always are planning our next adventure.

So the second I found out that I needed to document a friend, I knew it had to be this girl. Here we are under a street light. Because we like to spend 10 minutes trying to figure out how to take a picture under a street light.

Lorena de las Mariposas has completely taken me under her wing since I moved here. Heck, two weeks after meeting her I was standing in her dad’s kitchen on Thanksgiving. She has basically made me apart of both her family family but also her friend family, and I have met some of the most remarkable people through her.

We have traveled all over California. We spend hours watching chick flicks, cooking in her parent’s kitchen, floating around her pool or browsing the thrifts store aisles.

She has encouraged me to find my artistic creativity (which I think I had stored away in the fifth grade after drawing yet another picture of a person whose hands were three times the size of their head). Through her, I learned how to make necklaces and solder and found some of my favorite craft bloggers. I rediscovered collaging, journaling and that I can paint (even if it is simple shapes). She challenges me all the time to try something new and to express myself. She also loves mustaches as much as I do.

Lauren is one of the most talented writers I know. She can capture the essence of a person through words in a way very few people can. You know them by the time you finish a story. She is also one of my favorite photographers. We can go places and take photos, and I’ll look at her blog, and at least half of the pictures I didn’t even know she was taking. She has captured me in ways that have made me look at myself in a new light. One day I know the entire world will have the pleasure of seeing her enamoring work.

I love this lady because we can be sent into fits of giggles through simply a look. We can be obnoxiously silly, whether it is photographing a weird fairy doll at brunch or jumping 80 times in a row to get the perfect picture.

But most of all, we get each other. We have heart to hearts about everything from boys, to life goals to what it means to be in your mid-20s and  not know what lies ahead.  And while we may not know where we are going to end up, we do know that we will be there together, supporting each other and making each other’s souls happy every single day. Love you lots Miss Lauren!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    November 18, 2011 4:42 pm

    Aw, this is tear-inducingly (can that be a new word, please?) sweet! I can’t believe it’s our three year anniversary this week — we need to do another celebration picnic, STAT! I just love this post so much, and I feel the same way. I remember that Thanksgiving when we were waiting for you to arrive and everyone was like, “so who is Maggie?” I was like, “Um, I don’t know, I just met her.” Who would have ever known we’d end up like this. I love you, you lil baby girl. Lorena.

  2. November 22, 2011 12:37 am

    I love you both!

  3. November 22, 2011 6:09 pm

    This is my all time favorite post! You two are a couple of sweethearts! It’s so amazing to share a kindred friendship like the two of you do….one of god’s blessings for sure!

Leave a Reply

