Skip to content

Cause everything it must belong somewhere.

November 18, 2011

Day 26, 27  and 28 of 30 Pictures in 30 Days/Day 11, 12 and 13 of the 30 Days of Good

Those are my feet. Those are also some shoes I rather enjoy. For Day 11 in my 30 Days of GOOD Challenge, my task was to take a picture of my favorite shoes. I took a pic of my TOMS, but they did not turn out at all. Oh, cell phone pics. So this is from another day. These are my fave work shoes at the moment.
This weekend, I traded in my laptop and round the clock Internet access for a reclining chair and a kitty and two puppies. I had the pleasure of house sitting for two of my friends up in Sacramento, which actually worked out perfectly because I needed to finish cleaning my apartment. And I also got to document the highlight of my day.
Animal sitting is always fun for me because I get to have uninterrupted pet time! Randy and Dale just got a new little kitten who purrs non-stop when she sees her food dish or when you hold or pet her. She literally purred for an hour while I watched TV and I had to turn up the volume because I couldn’t hear. Mya, the lady dog pictured above, thinks the kitten is her adopted daughter and will whine for hours as the kitten hides under the couch.
Buddy, the other dog, was a bit of a tough nut to crack. He barked at me non-stop for the first hour. About five treats later and after finally just ignoring him, he finally wondered over and let me pet him. Then, we were buddies from there on out.

On Sunday, I finally did the last bit of cleaning at my baby apartment. My neighbors came over and at one point just helped me throw all of my stuff into a box to bring or the trash. They really forced me to speed up the process, and I could not be more grateful. My challenge for the day was to document hopefulness. During the whole day while I was cleaning, all I could think about was falling asleep in this warm bed and that the next day the sunshine would wake me up. So in its own way it gave me hope that I would eventually be done cleaning.

Moving is hard, especially when you feel like you are breaking up with your apartment. I lived in Midtown Sacramento on a beautiful tree-lined street for about three years.

I know. An apartment is supposed to just be a place where you rest your head. But when you move somewhere and you don’t know a soul, your apartment becomes your refuge. It’s where I spent those first couple weeks debating whether to go to a movie or bar by myself. It’s where I talked to friends and family that I miss with all my heart who live across the country. It’s where I crashed with Ramon after a night of Latin dancing. It’s where Patrick would bang on my door at 7 a.m. every time there was a garage sale. It’s where Lauren and I would go when we needed a break and wanted to go to an artsy movie or go to the neighborhood newsstand. It’s where I lived.

But it’s time to move on. I can already tell I’m going to love having an extra hour and a half a day not commuting to Lodi. Lauren and I can watch TV at lunch. If I forget my notebook at home, it’s not the end of the world. If I’m working a split shift, I have a place to spend  a few hours. I have a roomie who loves watching crappy MTV/VH1 shows as much as I do. And I’m saving a ton of money.

So baby apartment, thanks for being my home.  I will miss you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 2:23 pm

    Aw sad. Goodbye baby apartment. You were good to me too.

    You’ll love your new home just as much. And you’ll love the extra money you can spend on that pumpkin coffee and dark beer : )

  2. November 22, 2011 12:41 am

    Yes, sniff .. bye bye baby apartment .. we loved you … snort.

Leave a Reply

