Skip to content

Autumn hanging down all the trees are draped like chandeliers.

November 8, 2011

Day 20, 21 and 22 of 30 Pictures in 30 Days/Day 5, 6, 7 of the 30 Days of Good

Happy Monday! I’m feeling refreshed after Day Light’s Savings Time, but hating that it gets dark so early. Not a fan. But I’m sure I’ll get used to it, and maybe I’ll get up a bit earlier in the morning to enjoy more sunshine throughout my day.

I need to catch up on my 30 Days of GOOD challenge. On Saturday, I kind of failed. My task was taking a picture of something new, but I only took one picture all day: a shot while sitting on a sleeping bag in my old apartment that I should of been cleaning, but instead I read a book. I guess it could be considered new because it’s only the second time I’ve ever slept on that floor? Yeah. We’ll go with that.

On Sunday, I needed to photograph a piece of art.

This is probably my favorite painting that I have ever bought, and I’m sad this picture does not do it justice. Aside from it being a beautiful and having character (the edges are frayed), it reminds me of a wonderful trip to Aptos with some of my favorite people ever. Several years ago, the lovely Miss Lauren and her wonderful friend Laura and I went to the Santa Cruz farmers market to do some perusing early in the morning. We strolled the aisles, oooing and ahhing over jewelry, art and knick knacks. I bought this painting and three dresses, and I seriously was in vintage heaven and had a wonderful day. Despite a bad hair day that Lauren truly captured on camera.

Every time I look at the painting, I think of Laura who passed away way from cancer about a year ago. I know everyone who had the pleasure of knowing her has little keepsakes and memories that remind them of her all the time.

Today was document autumn. I was stuck at work all day, but I managed to get the shot above and these two on my walk back from lunch.

Also, tonight Dan and I made a real dinner in our apartment for the first time! It was truly delicious, and I’m pretty pumped to have a roomie to cook and eat with.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    November 18, 2011 3:48 am

    I love this post! But I love it even more that you camped out at your old apartment with beer and Maupin. It’s pretty hilarious that I slept on that floor before you did … remember, before I started making you share your bed. Shyness is overrated. Haha.

Leave a Reply

