Skip to content

Feelin’ blue, blue, blue, blue, blue.

November 5, 2011

Day 19 of 30 Pictures in 30 Days/Day 4 of the 30 Days of Good

The second I found out that my challenge for the day was to photograph something old, I immediately knew exactly what (or who) I was going to shoot.

When I was adopted, a family friend at church presented my parents with a corduroy bear. He wasn’t necessarily fuzzy, but he sure was cute and small enough to fit in my little hands while sleeping. He’s been my buddy for all 25 years on this planet, and is most assuredly my most nostalgic and prized possession. His name is Blue Bear.

Usually in the morning I wake up and then leave Blue Bear behind to start my day.

I imagine he usually spends the day watching TV…

Or staring out the window during my absence.

But today I decided it was time for us to have another adventure. My mom often jokes that Blue Bear is more well-traveled than she is. We’ve been to Norway and England together and vacationed all over the United States. He joined me on the trip out to California. And he even stayed with me the entire 10 days I spent in the hospital right before high school. He got neck surgery (a couple stitches to repair some loose stuffing) while I was having my own surgery. Needless to say, we like to do things together.

He was very excited to go outside.

He helped me make my coffee.

And then we were off.

We worked for a while. I even had him fill in when I went into a meeting.

But when I came back, I saw he was in a sugar coma from eating all the free candy at our office. It’s easy to get carried away.

Blue Bear never has any trouble making friends. We visited Amber’s desk, and he immediately made friends with Mr. Belevedere, her rambunctious armadillo. They are awkwardly close.

We had an overall wonderful day, and I’m sure Blue Bear and I will have many more adventures!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2011 4:31 pm

    Awwww, I LOVE Blue Bear. I am always free to bear sit if you need a bear breather. P.S. I will hide the candy.

  2. November 6, 2011 1:42 am

    This is one of my favorite posts! Blue bear is looking good!

  3. Lauren permalink
    November 6, 2011 3:16 am

    haha this is awesome. I miss you … And this almost made me miss work, but not really.

Leave a Reply

