Skip to content

And if I was a tree growing tall and green all I’d want is you to shade me and be my leaves.

October 18, 2011

 Sometimes you need to get out of your normal routine and experience a little nature. A couple of weekends ago, I decided to head out on my first big hike by myself. I was a little nervous as I put some water bottles and granola bars in my backpack and tied a purple bandana around my head.

I decided Muir Woods would be the perfect place for this little adventure. I put on my tennis shoes and hit a trail that had towering redwoods, a foggy outlook over the ocean and even dry grassland. I saw little lizards, several butterflies and a deer munching down on some leaves. It was a delight, especially this little stair path.

These trees were big. I mean, really big. Did you know coastal redwoods can live over 2,000 years? This fallen trees roots were way taller than I am.

I’ll be honest, I totally underestimated this trail. I took the Ben Johnson to Dipsea trail, which is about a 4.35 mile trail. That’s not crazy far. But when you add in the trail climbing 1,105 feet then that’s a lot of hills to be conquered. By the time I reached the open meadows with the rolling fog, I was relieved.

I found a couple little friends.

Isn’t this little guy the best?

And I didn’t leave out all of the lovely flora!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These last two photos were my favorite. I think I will be heading back to Muir Woods pretty soon. Have you been outside lately? Get out! Explore! Stretch your legs! Take some flower pics! Use a ton of exclamation marks! And listen to the “All I Want Is You” song from Juno!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 3:37 pm

    Oh my…I’m crazy in love with this post!! I forgot about Muir Woods, haven’t been there in over 15 years..let’s go! You photos are absolutely breath-taking, thanks for sharing your magic hike. Hugz~ C.

  2. October 19, 2011 2:03 am

    What a great post and the pics are to die for!!!

Leave a Reply

