Skip to content

Goodbyes made easy.

October 8, 2011

I’m really not so good at goodbyes. I get horrendously sentimental. I think about how things will never be the same. I feel like it’s one of the few areas in life where I can be over-the-top dramatic.

I’ve been trying to get better at this. Years of watching people leave or more onto different things during college helped. I finally realized (I think) that just cause someone is leaving doesn’t mean you won’t see them again or that you won’t have anything in common. It’s actually quite the contrary. Distance makes the heart grow stronger or something like that.

So as we said goodbye to two of my besties at work during the past couple of months, I managed to look on the bright side and enjoyed planning goodbye gifts (or “see you really soon” gifts).

 Joelle, our wonderful sports reporter, headed down to Bakersfield to go back to school and work as a PR person for the university’s sports teams. She is probably my dearest friend in Sacramento and always was a superb drinking/adventure/talking about what we want in life buddy.  I’m excited  her moving will give me another reason to head back to Bako. Yes, I’m excited to head back to a desert oil town.

We celebrated out with a six-bar tour of some of our favorite spots with our lovely friends Christy and Dan. It involved shuffleboard, darts, me forcing people to eat, way too much beer and a little jog toward the end.

On Thursday, we said goodbye to Jordan, our incredibly snarky business reporter who is heading to our competitor. And believe you me, he took a lot of guff for that. But in the end, we are excited for his new opportunity, yet sad to see him go. There was much deep crying. And by that I mean we made a ton of self-deprecating remarks while drinking beer.

Things eventually turned a little weird.

And Lauren and I decided we will have to leave the News-Sentinel on the same day. Because the thought of goodbye parties for each other is too much. It’s a plan. We are heading to the beach this weekend with her lovely dog, Sara. Wish us good luck staring a fire! It’s our first try!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 4:46 pm

    Enjoyed your post Mags. Sweet photos…..did you guys plan the plaid theme? =)

Leave a Reply

