Skip to content

The secret life of plants.

June 15, 2011

30 Photos in 30 Days (Day 9)

Remember these little lovelies? Well, they are still alive. My lack of a green thumb hasn’t killed them… yet. This weekend, I think I might have over picked the cilantro, so we will see if it pops back. I really love having little herbs to coo at and pluck the dead snails out of. (Lovely image, eh?) It’s also been great because before I even walk out the door to water every morning, my neighbor has already tended to them with his other plants. Talk about low maintenance. He will be getting a little card soon.

I have admittedly not been using these herbs (parsley, basil and cilantro) as much as I should, aside from sprinkling them in salads.  When I get back from St. Louis, I’m planning to embark on another 26 Before 26 challenge — going vegetarian for a month. I want to focus on healthy eating and force myself to get in my wonderful kitchen and think a bit outside the box.

But for now, I’m working with an almost empty kitchen, so I kept it simple tonight and make a grilled cheese with basil leaves. It was still delicious. And now I am sipping on some lemonade. A perfect Tuesday evening.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 5:46 am

    hurray for keeping plants alive. And omg that sandwich sounds so good right now.

  2. June 15, 2011 6:05 am

    Whoop whoop for your green thumb Mags….have I ever told you grilled cheese sammies are on my top 5 fave food list…yep. Would die 4 1 right now! Think saltines would work instead of bread?…never mind.

  3. Lois Creamer permalink
    June 15, 2011 2:42 pm

    Hey, that sandwich looks good … pass it over here.

Leave a Reply

