Skip to content

Fourteen cannibal kings wondering blithely what the dinner bell will bring.

June 11, 2011

30 Photos in 30 Days (Day 4 and Day 5)

I finished up house-sitting with Miss Lauren this morning. We sadly left Cindy’s beautiful home to go to work, even though our better judgement was to stay at home and watch trash TV.

We both have wanted to get out of our homes for a cheapo vacation, so house-sitting was the perfect opportunity. We giggled, ate heartily and dreamed of owning our own homes one day.  I stopped by the farmers market after work and brought home some bread and flowers, while Lauren cooked up a storm. I feel like my kitchen is fairly big considering my baby apartment, but it is nothing compared to Cindy’s spacious palette for creating delicious meals. She has beautiful counter tops and a comfy seating area with stools perfect for watching TV while chatting with her lovely daughter, Emma.

Lauren is a wizard with a knife and quickly chopped up some goodies for our meal of pasta primavera and garlic bread. Before:

After:

Plus, you can’t forget some wine:


We watched some Top Chef and took baths. I may or may not have been so relaxed that I fell asleep and Lauren had to wake me up. We also played with puppies and kitties. They are pretty adorable. Boz reminds me of a cheerful Eeyore with his mellow demeanor and his wide-eyed glances.

Mikey was constantly on the look out for his momma.

And Maxwell had his sassy pants on during our whole visit.

Did I mention I slept in a camper? Cindy has painted her arts and crafts room to look exactly like a camper. Check out my view!

One of the things I really appreciate about Cindy is she’s never afraid to try new decorating concepts, whether it is painting flags down bookshelves or putting fabric on a wall to act as curtains on a painted window. I love her little details.

And I about freaked when I saw the amazing gift Cindy left me. Remember this? Cindy left this gem on my bed! I can’t wait to fill it with my favorite quotes and  little secrets while enjoying her artwork everyday.

And the fun didn’t stop there. For our Friday work lunch, we decided to treat ourselves to the new restaurant in Galt. Yum pizza with goat cheese.

I’m so excited that it is the weekend so I can catch up on some of the many projects I’ve put off. And a week from Saturday, I’ll be heading home to spend time with my wonderful parents, just in time for Father’s Day.

Also, several of my college friends will be home, and I’m getting so excited for a sleepover with the lovely Shannon Jewitt, a bestie I haven’t seen in almost a year and a half, and a day trip to Comomo with two of the best dudes in the world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 7:33 am

    Hi Mags!
    So glad you had fun at Casa DeLuz….love all the photos……Boz and Mike crack me up! The food looks amazing! Thank you for house sitting….we could truly relax knowing you and Lauren we’re watching the home front. Emma adores you both and said she had a blast. P.S. I’m crazy in love with the blooms…..simply devine! Mucho Gracias! Love you tons~ Cindy

Leave a Reply

