Skip to content

Take my hand and we’ll make it, I swear. Oh, livin’ on a prayer.

June 6, 2011

What a wonderfully exhausting weekend. I was up 30 hours but it was well worth it. I participated in Relay for Life this weekend. It really was a life-changing experience. Our team raised about $3,500 in cash to help fight cancer and the total Lodi event raised about $134,000.

The money we raised will not only go to cancer research, but it will also help those suffering from cancer get the treatment they need. It will pay for car trips to doctors sometimes hours away and hotel stays for families wanting to be by their loved ones sides. Women will receive beauty counseling sessions to help them feel more comfortable while undergoing treatment. It will pay for programs to prevent people from getting this disease in the first place.

Now, while that was a rather serious note, I must admit Relay for Life is a blast. Absurdly fun. Since my entire weekend was spent at Relay, I’m doing a 5 Senses Monday about the event. Also, I will have quite a few photos to post in a bit.

Feeling: My stomach hurting and my throat seizing as I laughed with Lauren and Amber while walking around the track or taking photos or sitting in the tent or while really doing anything at Relay.

Hearing: The Macarena at 4:30 a.m. as we struggled to stay awake and keep moving.

Tasting: The sweet taste of cherries.

Smelling: Grass. The sweet, summer-y smell as Lauren and Amber and I rolled around in a field after the sun finally came out.

Seeing: So many sights to pick one. About 100 survivors walking the first lap of the Relay: waving, smiling and most importantly, still here to enjoy the event. Bags of luminaries that I passed a ton of times as I walked around the track remembering those who are no longer with us. Helping an 8-year-old make a macaroni necklace, who two years earlier battled cancer. Watching people keep walking through the rain at 4 a.m. still smiling. Seeing about five rainbows grace the sky after a day of rain and wind.

Tomorrow I’m finally starting one of my 26 Before 26 challenge. I’ll be taking a picture everyday for the next 30 days, which will include a trip to St. Louis, a fun stay at my crafty friend Cindy’s house and the Fourth of July. I’ll try to post them everyday on my blog (but admittedly, might have to do some catch up since it’s a busy month!)

Hope everyone has a lovely week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 5:04 am

    Congrats on this important event. I’m proud of you.

Leave a Reply

