Skip to content

Another sunny day, I met you up in the garden. You were digging plants, I dug you, beg your pardon.

April 19, 2011

Meet Fred, Mary Ann and Milton. I finally have completed one of my goals on my 26 Before 26 list. I decided to start with a small herb garden — parsley, cilantro and basil.

I originally envisioned small potted containers that I would put in my window, but the girl who sold me the plants at the farmers market really encouraged me to grow outside because herbs lose their flavor indoors. Then when I went to the store they told me to buy larger pots so the herbs will have plenty of room to stretch their roots and leaves.

Fred, the parsley, is a bit of a hot mess right now. He didn’t do well in the temporary container, so I’m hoping with some sun and water he will perk up.

 Instead of using a shovel, I grabbed a butter container. Yay for reuse and recycling.

I put some all natural marble nuggets in the bottom of the pot, and lined the outside of the saucer with them. When they get wet, they are supposed to create humidity around the plant. I also bought a spray bottle to wet the leaves in the morning.

I also bought some pretty flowers to brighten up my baby apartment from the farmers market. I love springtime.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 7:32 pm

    you have a very creative blog and its inspired me to do mine with beautiful large pictures….did you have to pay for the CSS to get them ? Please let me know how you got the large pictures on there !

Leave a Reply

