Skip to content

I want to be good, but it ain’t no fun. I want to be true, but what is true?

February 21, 2011

After a busy, busy weekend, I think it’s time for a Five Senses Monday on this glorious Monday. (Being off work makes anything glorious).

Tasting: Creme Brulee. Carmelized and burned. I went to San Fransisco to visit with Jordan Hickey, one of my lovely college buds. We ate a delicious Italian meal of fettuccine tossed in tomatoes and garlic, some delicious wine and some creme brulee.

It was great to see Jordan, and after walking around and not finding any good bars, we stumbled on the one pictured above. It was beyond awesome with dollar bills pinned to the wall, a partially nude women, a juke box with a good mix of old school tunes and some lady bartenders who look like they party hard.

Invariably being in a dive bar, Jordan and I recounted many of our college adventures and it was so nice to see someone from back home and catch up.

Feeling: Dizzy as I was spun around repeatedly at contra dancing. Having never even heard of it before, I’m still struggling to explain the dance. It’s set to folksy fiddle music that has an Irish ting. You have a partner and line up facing each other. You stick with that partner, but you end up dancing with every other couple in the line. Before every dance, you practice the moves as a caller tells you what to do. It at times was really silly as my partners whipped me around and pushed me in the right direction.

Hearing: Hymn for Her. This adorable couple is touring the country in an AirStream with their baby and a dog. The two play a three-stringed broom handle/cigar box, banjo, dobro, bass drum, hi-hat, and harp during their shows. I’m seeing them in Stockton on Thursday and am excited for a little banjo plucking.

Seeing: Myself on the news. I made my big debut after running into a storm while snowshoeing in the Sierras.  Joelle wrote a lovely article detailing our snow adventure. I still contend I have never been that cold in my life.

Smelling: Tea in the morning. It’s so nice to lay in bed and drink some while watching the Price is Right.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:59 am

    Yes! I think the best part of my week really was your video. I think I need to figure out how to burn it to CD before it disappears somehow.

    Also, will you do your living room in lights this way. It will be so nice to look up at the pretty lights when we cuddle on your couch bed. Just sayin. (Disclaimer potential boys: That’s a joke; Maggie’s pretty straight. I mean, not the straightest ever, because, like, she loves gay men. But straight ones, too. Yeah.)

Leave a Reply

