Skip to content

Our love, our love is all of God’s money. Everyone is a burning sun.

November 5, 2010

Sometimes people come are in our lives for only a short time. Fortunately, I experienced this recently with the lovely Miss Laura. And I say fortunately because in this short time in which I knew Laura, she taught me so much about selflessly loving others.

I feel so lucky to have met some of the best people ever in this adventure in California. Laura stood out simply because even though I was a stranger, she was so unbelievably welcoming from the first minute I met her. Quickly, we were giggling like old friends.

Unfortunately, cancer cut her life short. On Saturday, we will celebrate her life by gazing at her beautiful artwork and the beyond lovely pictures that Lauren took of Laura. They are some of the most beautiful photos I have ever seen, and the two on this blog are just the beginning, so make sure you go look.

Also, Lauren assembled a book of questionnaires and pictures that Laura’s favorite people filled out, and I feel honored to be part of it.

It was a mix of questions about Laura and also myself. They truly illustrate my feelings about the lovely lady:

I first met Laura on a lunch date to Tillie’s. I was so nervous to meet her and Grant because I had heard so much about how wonderful and artistic and creative they are from Lauren. But it turns out I had nothing to be nervous about.

My favorite thing Laura has ever made or done for me: Invited me to her wonderful beach condo at Aptos. Having moved from Missouri, I was still making friends, and I was so excited to get to spend the weekend with a whole bunch of great people. We giggled, relaxed in the hot tub, watched fireworks and walked on the beach.

I remember one time Laura invited a great group of people for a wonderful dinner. Everyone listened to banjo and guitar plucking, drank honey wine and enjoyed the warmth of her house.

My favorite thing in Laura’s house is everything! It’s like a creative haven, and I enjoy every one of her pieces of artwork. I think one of the things that really shows Laura’s attention to detail is the picture that is an outline of a cat next to Bindi’s water and food bowl. So ridiculously cute.

Laura surprised me most when … she looked like a real model posing for Lauren’s pictures. Her photos were so incredibly gorgeous.

If I could give Laura one gift (no money limitations), I would give her: unlimited sunshine, happiness and love.

One word to describe Laura: Vivacious. From her red locks to her irrepressible energy.

Laura has taught me: to be loyal and always supportive to the people who mean the most to me.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    November 5, 2010 3:48 pm

    Ah, don’t make me cry! No, this is really a wonderful post. Laura seriously loved you, and always liked having you around. I’ll never forget when we were at the beach house in Aptos and she would just smile and whisper, “she’s so cute!” when you’d just repeat, “thank you, thank you, thank you for inviting me. I’m having such a good time.” She loved your positive peppiness and we both said we wished we could have more of that.

Trackbacks

  1. Miss Maggie, Through the Viewfinder | The Urban Hippie

Leave a Reply

