Skip to content

Derby, roses and the Cardinals — a collection of weekend loveliness

April 26, 2010

The past few weekends have been filled with fun, friends and family. I feel like I’ve really been busy both on the weekends and at work, so today I took the whole day off of life and read some books and zoned out in front of my TV.

A couple of weekends ago, I went to check out the Sacred City Derby girls with my new friends Christy and Dan.

Having never seen derby, it was great to have them explain the rules.The girls can skate wicked fast, and it was great to watch. I unfortunately couldn’t get very many good photos, since they are zoom around the track.

Bob and Jane, my uncle and aunt, came into town last weekend. We went and checked out the California State Capitol and saw the wonderful World Peace Rose Garden. There were many oohs and ahhs as we walked through the beautiful flowers.

Oftentimes, my favorite activities are last-minute decisions. On Friday, I gave my friend, Joelle, a call on a whim to see if she wanted to go see the St. Louis Cardinals play the San Francisco Giants. She was totally game, so I threw on my Cardinals cap and we headed to the crazy cool AT&T Stadium.

You can see the Bay Bridge from the stadium.

While I will always love Busch Stadium, I got to say that the Giants’ stadium is unique in that it has an amazing view of the Bay. I hope the fans realize how lucky they are!

We met up with Brian, one of the Intrepid Ones after the game. Unfortunately, I don’t have a pic of Brian, but he took one at our table. We had some delicious margaritas!

And then on the way back to our car, we stumbled on City Hall. This is a picture from Google of the building at Christmas time. Source.

We also grabbed our own quick shot. Joelle had just watched Milk recently, so we were both pretty excited to see this historic spot where people protested for gay rights in the 1970s.

Hope everyone else had a good weekend, and the Cardinals won today, so I’m pretty pumped.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:37 pm

    awesome flower shots, my little photographer. looks like a lot of fun! i just love that you guys aren’t afraid to embrace your inner tourist.

Leave a Reply

