Skip to content

I’m pretty much a welder

January 24, 2010

This weekend, I waited in eager anticipation to learn a new art form from Miss Lauren. We were house-sitting in Lodi for our friends, and Lauren brought all her soldering stuff, so we could make some cute picture necklaces.

We put two pictures in between microscope slides and then surround it with copper ribbon, which we covered in flax. My first necklace was a photo Lauren took at the Crest Theatre in Downtown Sacramento, and one I found online of the Coyote Natural Bridge that was too beautiful to pass up. Maybe one day I will go to Colorado to see it.

Then, we melted some metal wire with the soldering iron and quickly put it on the copper wire. And the final product…

For artistically-challenged people like me, this is a great art project because you can redo it if you mess it up, it requires little hand-eye coordination and the result is a one-of-a-kind necklace, charm or decoration.

Plus, it’s fun to go through and select the photos, and they make great gifts. There will be many more soldering afternoons in my future.

And just for fun, here’s a pic of Sara, who is Lauren’s dog and our number one travel partner, and Captain, who belongs to The Interpid Ones. When Captain’s leash broke in an unfortunate geese herding incident, we had to connect them to get back to the car. As predicted, they did not like this.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:33 am

    Maggie: I absolutely love your blog . . .it’s a great way to stay connected and keep up with what’s going on in your life! Bob & I may be in CA in mid-April for a 90th birthday party for my aunt who lives in Novato. My cousin, her daughter, lives in San Rafael and she’s throwing a big party for my aunt. It will be a chance to see some cousins on my Dad’s side who I haven’t seen for a long time. We thought we might try to spend a day with you if we could work that out.
    Also, Bob and I have been doing community supported agriculture (CSA) for 3-4 years with an IL organic farmer. It runs June through the end of October, the growing season here. There is nothing better than fresh, organic produce. What we get thru CSA is mainly salad greens and vegtables . . .they do not grow fruits. Great to read your blog . . . .keep it up! Jane

  2. Maggie permalink*
    January 27, 2010 5:29 am

    Hi Jane!
    So glad Ann passed this along to you. I figured it would be a fun way to get me taking pictures and writing outside of work, and a nice way to let people know what I’m up too.
    That is great that you will be in Novato. I just looked online and that’s only about an hour and a half away. I’ve driven that way before with my friend Lauren when we went camping on Dillon’s Beach. I’d love to see you and could totally drive down if that would be easiest.
    That’s cool you joined a CSA. I keep meaning to join some type of community garden, so I really need to look into that. I have absolutely loved trying all the new fruits and veggies out here, and I feel like I’m always learning about new ones that I didn’t know existed. Maybe if you come out to Cali I can bring you all a bag of fresh farmers market fruit!
    Hope you are having a great New Year. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

