Skip to content

Discovering a curious red fruit

December 1, 2009

It seemed fitting to have my first post be on one of the things I love most in California: the abundant supply of fresh produce.

Since moving to California, I have had many people explain the importance of eating food when it comes into season. It builds a type of anticipation that can’t be duplicated in grocery stores where items are available yearround.

Anyone who spends more than a day with me in California will most likely have to listen to a long speech about all of the juicy, flavorful fruit you can get in the Central Valley. (And if you are lucky, I’ll take you to my favorite Sunday Farmers Market).

Coming from a place where you can get delicious fresh apples and corn but not much else, being able to buy peaches or tomatoes the same week they’ve been picked off the tree or vine is a real treat.

After my friend Lauren introduced me to curious red seeds at lunch, I decided to try my hand at cutting open a pomegranate. She warned me it would look like a murder scene in my kitchen.

A bloody mess.

Feeling overwhelmed after seeing that this fruit came with an instruction pamphlet, I embarked on lopping off the top of the fruit and cutting it along the white skin. With my fingers, I forced the seeds from the tight grip of the fruit’s skin, and they started to plop into a bowl of water. (The white inedible skin floats in the water while the seeds sink).

The results were crazy delicious and gave me enough seeds to stay stocked for two days.

The final product of hard work.

The only downside is pomegranates have a short growing season so alas, I will have to wait until next year to butcher some more.

There will be many more pictures and stories to follow of the Farmers Market and the various produce I get from there.

I recently met two folks who sell at the market every Sunday, so I’m hoping maybe I can tag along with them for an hour or two and learn more about what they do.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 12:27 am

    Yout conquered the pom! Good for you, Midwesterner. May the year be filled with tons of pom murdering.

Leave a Reply

